Categories Lifestyle

A Comprehensive Guide to Watching X-Men Movies in Order

The X-Men film series, based on the Marvel Comics superhero team of the same name, has been a beloved franchise since its inception in 2000. With a mix of origin stories, sequels, prequels, and spin-offs, the timeline can be quite convoluted. To help navigate this intricate universe, here’s a guide on how to watch the X-Men movies in both release order and chronological order.

X-Men Movies in Release Order

  1. X-Men (2000)
  2. X2: X-Men United (2003)
  3. X-Men: The Last Stand (2006)
  4. X-Men Origins: Wolverine (2009)
  5. X-Men: First Class (2011)
  6. The Wolverine (2013)
  7. X-Men: Days of Future Past (2014)
  8. Deadpool (2016)
  9. X-Men: Apocalypse (2016)
  10. Logan (2017)
  11. Deadpool 2 (2018)
  12. X-Men: Dark Phoenix (2019)
  13. The New Mutants (2020)

X-Men Movies in Chronological Order

  1. X-Men: First Class (2011)
    Set in the 1960s, this film explores the origins of the X-Men, focusing on the early relationship between Charles Xavier and Erik Lehnsherr (Magneto).
  2. X-Men: Days of Future Past (2014) [Past segments]
    The 1970s segments of this movie continue the story from “First Class,” dealing with the aftermath of the Cuban Missile Crisis and the emergence of Sentinels.
  3. X-Men Origins: Wolverine (2009)
    Taking place in the late 1970s and early 1980s, this film delves into Wolverine’s past, including his relationship with his half-brother Victor Creed (Sabretooth) and his time with Team X.
  4. X-Men: Apocalypse (2016)
    Set in the 1980s, this film introduces the ancient mutant Apocalypse and the young versions of familiar characters like Cyclops, Jean Grey, and Storm.
  5. X-Men: Dark Phoenix (2019)
    Continuing from “Apocalypse,” this 1990s-set movie focuses on Jean Grey’s transformation into the Dark Phoenix.
  6. X-Men (2000)
    Set in the early 2000s, the original film introduces the central conflict between Professor Xavier’s X-Men and Magneto’s Brotherhood.
  7. X2: X-Men United (2003)
    Following the events of the first film, the X-Men face a new threat from Colonel William Stryker.
  8. X-Men: The Last Stand (2006)
    This film concludes the original trilogy, dealing with the discovery of a “cure” for mutation and the Dark Phoenix saga.
  9. The Wolverine (2013)
    Set after “The Last Stand,” Logan travels to Japan and confronts his past while facing a new enemy.
  10. Deadpool (2016)
    Set in the present day, this film follows the origin story of Wade Wilson, a mercenary turned anti-hero with regenerative abilities.
  11. Deadpool 2 (2018)
    Continuing from the first “Deadpool,” this film introduces new characters like Cable and the X-Force team.
  12. Logan (2017)
    Set in the near future (2029), this film depicts an older Wolverine and Professor Xavier in a world where mutants are nearly extinct.
  13. The New Mutants (2020)
    Set in an indeterminate timeline, this horror-inspired film focuses on a group of young mutants held in a secret facility.

Key Spin-offs and Side Stories

  • Deadpool and Deadpool 2 are technically part of the X-Men universe but follow a more comedic and irreverent tone, often breaking the fourth wall.
  • Logan serves as a poignant, standalone conclusion to Wolverine’s story, offering a more mature and somber take on the character.
  • The New Mutants explores a different corner of the X-Men universe, focusing on a new generation of mutants in a unique horror setting.


Watching the X-Men movies in either release or chronological order offers a unique perspective on the evolution of the franchise. Whether you prefer to follow the story as audiences experienced it or in the narrative sequence of events, this guide ensures you won’t miss any crucial plot points. Enjoy the journey through the rich, complex world of mutants and their extraordinary powers.

More From Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like