Categories Lifestyle

A Complete Guide to Watching Marvel Movies in Order

The Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU) has captivated audiences worldwide with its expansive and interconnected storytelling. With over a decade of films, the MCU weaves intricate narratives across multiple phases, introducing a plethora of iconic characters and epic storylines. For newcomers and seasoned fans alike, watching Marvel movies in order can enhance the viewing experience, providing a deeper understanding of the overarching plot. Here’s a guide to watching Marvel movies in both chronological and release order.

Chronological Order

Watching Marvel movies in chronological order aligns the films according to the events within the MCU timeline, providing a seamless narrative flow.

  1. Captain America: The First Avenger (2011) – Set during World War II, it introduces Steve Rogers as Captain America.
  2. Captain Marvel (2019) – Takes place in the 1990s, following Carol Danvers as she becomes Captain Marvel.
  3. Iron Man (2008) – The beginning of Tony Stark’s journey as Iron Man.
  4. Iron Man 2 (2010) – Continues Tony Stark’s story and introduces Black Widow.
  5. The Incredible Hulk (2008) – Follows Bruce Banner’s transformation into the Hulk.
  6. Thor (2011) – Introduces Thor and sets the stage for future cosmic adventures.
  7. The Avengers (2012) – Brings together the core team of Avengers for the first time.
  8. Iron Man 3 (2013) – Explores Tony Stark’s struggles post-Avengers.
  9. Thor: The Dark World (2013) – Continues Thor’s adventures and delves into the Infinity Stones.
  10. Captain America: The Winter Soldier (2014) – Steve Rogers faces new threats in a modern world.
  11. Guardians of the Galaxy (2014) – Introduces a new team of heroes in a cosmic setting.
  12. Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 (2017) – Directly follows the first Guardians film.
  13. Avengers: Age of Ultron (2015) – The Avengers face a new enemy, Ultron.
  14. Ant-Man (2015) – Introduces Scott Lang as Ant-Man.
  15. Captain America: Civil War (2016) – Pits Avengers against each other over ideological differences.
  16. Black Widow (2021) – Takes place after Civil War, delving into Natasha Romanoff’s past.
  17. Black Panther (2018) – Follows T’Challa’s journey as the new king of Wakanda.
  18. Spider-Man: Homecoming (2017) – Follows Peter Parker’s life post-Civil War.
  19. Doctor Strange (2016) – Introduces the mystical side of the MCU with Dr. Stephen Strange.
  20. Thor: Ragnarok (2017) – Thor faces Ragnarok and a new powerful enemy, Hela.
  21. Ant-Man and The Wasp (2018) – Takes place between Infinity War and Endgame.
  22. Avengers: Infinity War (2018) – The Avengers face their greatest threat, Thanos.
  23. Avengers: Endgame (2019) – The epic conclusion to the Infinity Saga.
  24. Spider-Man: Far From Home (2019) – Deals with the aftermath of Endgame.

Release Order

Watching Marvel movies in release order allows viewers to experience the evolution of the MCU as it unfolded in real-time.

  1. Iron Man (2008)
  2. The Incredible Hulk (2008)
  3. Iron Man 2 (2010)
  4. Thor (2011)
  5. Captain America: The First Avenger (2011)
  6. The Avengers (2012)
  7. Iron Man 3 (2013)
  8. Thor: The Dark World (2013)
  9. Captain America: The Winter Soldier (2014)
  10. Guardians of the Galaxy (2014)
  11. Avengers: Age of Ultron (2015)
  12. Ant-Man (2015)
  13. Captain America: Civil War (2016)
  14. Doctor Strange (2016)
  15. Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 (2017)
  16. Spider-Man: Homecoming (2017)
  17. Thor: Ragnarok (2017)
  18. Black Panther (2018)
  19. Avengers: Infinity War (2018)
  20. Ant-Man and The Wasp (2018)
  21. Captain Marvel (2019)
  22. Avengers: Endgame (2019)
  23. Spider-Man: Far From Home (2019)
  24. Black Widow (2021)


Whether you choose to watch the Marvel movies in chronological order to follow the story as it happens within the universe, or in release order to see the MCU’s development and evolution, both approaches offer unique and rewarding experiences. Each film adds to the rich tapestry of the MCU, creating a saga that has become a cultural phenomenon.

Happy watching, and welcome to the Marvel Cinematic Universe!

More From Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like